Best Long-Range Rifle Scopes – The 20 Best Optics in 2022

  *The following guide contains links to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

If you’re like me, the idea of taking long-range shots with a rifle is both exhilarating and intimidating.

You can’t help but admire the skill and precision required to make those shots at 1000 yards or more. But it can be tough to know where to begin when choosing a rifle scope if you’re just starting out.

Even if you’ve got some experience under your belt, the vast array of choices out there can be overwhelming. But don’t worry, I really geeked out on this one. I spent so much time researching and testing scopes that my wife threatened to divorce me (kidding… sort of).

Anyway, after all that work, I’ve put together what I believe to be the definitive guide to the best long-range rifle scopes for all budgets.

Whether you’re shooting targets in the distance or taking down game in the wild, a quality scope is essential to do it with precision and accuracy. That’s why I refuse to compromise on quality when it comes time to scope them out.

Having said that, I know that not everyone has the same financial means, which is why this guide includes scopes for all budgets.

In this comprehensive guide and review comparison, I’ll share my personal experience with 20 of the best long-range rifle scopes on the market today (for all budgets). I’ll also provide tips on how to choose the right scope. So whether you’re a beginner or a seasoned pro, I’ve got you covered.


Understanding What Long Range Is

Before I get to my list of long-range scopes, I want to clarify a few things.

While the specific range can change from rifle to rifle or hunter to hunter, I’ve found that the caliber and barrel length of your rifle are the two biggest factors in determining your long-range efficacy. Different firearms are suited for different maximum ranges.

For instance, I can comfortably shoot out to 100-150 yards with my .22 rifle, which I’d classify as long-range. But I could potentially push my accuracy out to 500 yards or more with a 6.5 Creedmoor with the proper long-range scope. In fact, certain Creedmoor rifles can get up to 1000 yards, particularly if they have the right optics to go along with the user.

I’ve been shooting rifles for a while now, and I’ve learned that there isn’t a single operational range that I can define as “long” for everyone. You’ll have to know your rifle’s ballistics to determine what long-range means for you. I recommend checking your cartridge ballistics on websites like GunData.org.

Because of this variety, the scopes I’ll discuss below come in all kinds of configurations. Additionally, each of my choices will have at least some of the aspects that, based on my experience, I believe an optimal long-range scope should have.


My Top Pick – Vortex Optics Viper HS-T 6-24x50mm SFP

My top pick is pretty subjective, and yours might be different; it boils down to your preferred features and how much you are willing to spend on a scope. I’ve gone for a mid-price scope, the Vortex Optics Viper HS-T, which is a great value optic with some nice features that make it perfect for hunting or tactical shooting.

I was impressed by the clear glass and easy setup, and I found once I set it with the zero stop, it was a breeze to track without issue. If you read on, you’ll see that I’m a big fan of Vortex, with another five models on this list!


The 20 Best Long-Range Rifle Scopes

For those in a rush, here’s my TL; DR on my top 20 best long-range scopes, but I strongly advise making yourself a strong cup of joe and settling down to read the complete review. You’ll get to read about how I felt after using each scope and issues I found, and how I dealt with them.

  1. Athlon Optics Argos 6-24×50 FFP Rifle Scope Gen 2 – I love the first focal plane design of this scope, which makes it easier to shoot accurately at long distances. Additionally, the illuminated reticle makes it easy to see my target in situations where the light is low.
  2. Vortex Optics Crossfire II 6-24×50 AO, SFP Riflescope – What sold me on the Crossfire II was the anti-reflective multi-coated lenses that help keep the image clear in all lighting conditions and the BDC reticle that makes it easy to aim at targets at different distances.
  3. LUCID Optics Advantage 6-24x50mm Sniper Scope – I love the adjustable turrets on the scope- it makes it easy to make quick adjustments on the fly. And the multi-coated lenses help to reduce glare and improve clarity.
  4. Vortex Optics Diamondback 6-24×50 Riflescope – Durable, fog proof, and waterproof – I can use this scope in any condition without worrying about it breaking or fogging up.
  5. Bushnell Engage 6-24×50 Riflescope 30mm Tube – As I’d expect from a quality brand such as Bushnell, the turrets on this scope are incredibly precise, and the MOA reticle is perfect for long-range shots.
  6. Vortex Optics Viper HS-T 6-24x50mm SFP – You might remember this as my top pick. It’s a great scope for someone looking for a versatile optic. I’ve found it great for both hunting and tactical shooting scenarios.
  7. Leupold VX-3i LRP 6.5-20x50mm Riflescope – The rifle scope is made with an ultra-lightweight design, making it easy to carry around in the field. It also has long-range precision target adjustments, so it’s built for taking precise shots at a distance.
  8. Vortex Optics Viper PST Gen II 5-25x50mm SFP Riflescope – Perfect for shooters who demand the best. With its etched laser turrets and adjustable parallax, it’s easy to get on target quickly and accurately. And with its RZR zero stop, you can be sure that your shots will be dead on every time.
  9. Burris Optics Veracity 5-25×50 Riflescope – The 1-piece outer tube makes this scope extremely durable and lessens recoil stress, which is a huge plus for me. The high-grade optical glass ensures a clear image every time I use it.
  10. Rudolph Optics Tactical T1 6-24×50 Riflescope – What impressed me about the T1 is its efficient light transmission and extremely wide magnification range. This scope fulfills all of my needs when shooting by day or as dusk is drawing in.
  11. Vortex Optics Razor HD Gen II 4.5-27×56 FFP – I really like the locking mechanism on the L-TEC turret system on this optic. It’s a great feature that prevents accidental adjustments while in the field.
  12. Nightforce Optics 5.5-22×56 NXS Riflescope – I had so much fun using these optics thanks to the zero-stop turrets, which helped me stay on target while shooting. It’s also waterproof and weather resistant, which will be great for those days when the weather isn’t cooperating.
  13. Schmidt Bender PMII 5-25×56 Riflescope – Doing my research, I found that this optic has a solid reputation with police and military worldwide, so I knew it would be able to withstand the most extreme conditions, and it did!
  14. Trijicon AccuPower 5-50×56 Riflescope – I can tell you that this optic is top-of-the-line when it comes to precision and long-range shooting. What more could you expect from a scope named AccuPower?
  15. Zeiss Conquest V4 6-24×50 ZMOA-1 Reticle – This is an amazing piece of technology that provides shooters with incredible accuracy and adjustability. It’s built from aircraft-grade aluminum and comes with a ballistic turret and a zero-stop function.
  16. Vortex Optics Golden Eagle HD 15-60×52 SFP – If you’re a competition shooter and need a scope that gives you an edge, you can rely on the Golden Eagle. I found it delivered incredible clarity and accuracy, allowing me to take down my targets without breaking a sweat.
  17. Leupold Mark 5HD 5-25x56mm Riflescope – The Coolest feature of this high-quality scope is the Twilight Max HD Light Management system. It has added up to 30 minutes of shooting light, which is really helpful when I’m hunting in the early morning or evening.
  18. Primary Arms Platinum Series 6-30×56 FFP Rifle Scope – Every detail about this scope screams quality. From crystal clear magnification to precise and easy adjustable turrets. It’s even got night vision settings, an awesome piece of kit!
  19. NightForce ATACR 7-35x56mm F1 Riflescope – This scope absolutely rocks! It features tactical MIL turrets and Zero Stop Technology, which means I can easily adjust for wind and elevation, and never lose my zero.
  20. Burris Optics XTR II 5-25×50 Riflescope – The Illuminated sights on the XTR II allowed me to shoot whenever I pleased. The Zero Click Stop adjustment knobs on this scope are also a great feature, making it easy to revert back to my original yardage setting without counting clicks.

As there are a plethora of riflescope models in the current market, it won’t be fair to pin the less expensive ones to the more high-end models.

That is why I’ve decided to categorize my top picks in different budget groups and thereby try and make your scope search a lot easier.


The 5 Best Long-Range Scopes Under $500


1. Athlon Optics Argos 6-24×50 FFP Rifle Scope Gen 2Athlon Optics Argos BTR GEN2 6-24x50 Riflescope - APMR FFP IR MIL, Black

Check Price on Amazon
Check Price on OpticsPlanet

My first pick is a scope from a well-renowned scope manufacturer – Athlon Optics. They are widely recognized for their affordable but high-quality scopes, and having used several of their scopes myself, it’s a brand I can genuinely recommend.

My Feelings after Using the Athlon Optics Argos

I have had tons of fun with this Athlon scope. I initially paired it with a 6.5 Creedmoor, and it performed well at distances of 500 yards plus. The clarity and overall performance in different lights were amazing. I really loved the zero-stop feature; this used to be something you only saw on high-end scopes, so it’s a great addition.

It also includes a first focal plane design. It’s perfect for hunters or shooters who need to make quick adjustments to their reticle size as they switch magnification settings.

I also love the overall design of the optic. It’s made from a single piece of aircraft-grade aluminum, providing superior mechanical integrity and weatherproof functionality. What does that mean for you? It means this thing can take a beating and survive harsh weather conditions.

Product Highlights

Even better, the scope has a reticle that’s etched right onto the glass. This design meant that it didn’t jostle or wobble when I combined this scope with a high-power, long-range rifle. Another bonus is that the reticle is also illuminated.

The etched reticle and illuminated design were both great features, and they really helped me hit my long-distance shots during low-light hours, even when my target was in the shadows.

Common Problems and How to Deal with Them

The only downside to this scope was that the reticle is in MIL, which is less common than MOA, but this is no deal breaker. If you are not familiar with the MIL system, it might take a little getting used to it, but it shouldn’t take long before you are proficient.

Key Features

  • First Focal Plane Design
  • Illuminated Reticle
  • Fully Multi-Coated Optics
  • Glass Etched Reticle
Pros Cons
  • Comes with an illuminated reticle
  • The reticle is etched onto the glass for better durability
  • Works in any weather conditions
  • Lightweight and durable overall
  • Includes parallax adjustment knob
  • The reticle is in MIL, less used than MOA

Basic Parameters

Manufacturer Athlon Optics
Weight 51.2oz
Eye Relief 3.3”
Magnification 6-24x
Field of View 16.7-4.5 at 100 yards

The Bottom Line

Ultimately, I believe that this optic is a fantastic choice for long-distance shooting at a budget price.

I was impressed with the features it offered, as well as the overall durability and performance. If you’re in the market for a scope that won’t break the bank but will still help you hit your targets at long range, the Athlon Optics Argos 6-24×50 FFP comes recommended.

My Rating 4/5


2. Vortex Optics Crossfire II 6-24×50 AO, SFP Riflescope Vortex Optics Crossfire II 6-24x50 AO, Second Focal Plane Riflescope - Dead-Hold BDC Reticle (MOA)

Check Price on Amazon
Check Price on OpticsPlanet

Vortex Optics is arguably the best name when it comes to affordable and high-quality riflescopes, and for a good reason. Their Crossfire II series sees a lot of use with both beginner marksmen and experienced hunters.

My Feelings after Using the Crossfire II

Personally, I loved using it, and it’s definitely one of the best options you can buy for a relatively affordable price.

This model comes with magnification settings between 6 and 24x and a 50 mm objective lens. These ranges are typical for many long-range scopes and are great choices for both zooming in close to your target and zooming out to track them as they move.

I was really pleased with the 50 mm objective lens. It allowed me to see my targets clearly, even in low light conditions.

I was really happy with the eye relief and forgiving eye box of this scope. If I paired it with a high-recoil weapon, I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t have to worry about my eye getting smashed by the scope edge.

This is another scope that is made from anodized aircraft-grade aluminum, so I can be assured of its durability, even when using it in tough weather conditions. I’m also glad to report it is nitrogen purged and o-ring sealed so that it is fog and waterproof.

Product Highlights

Of particular importance to long-distance hunters like myself is the BDC (bullet drop compensation) reticle. It is located on the second focal plane, so it doesn’t change size as you swap magnification settings.

However, it does allow you to better estimate where your bullet will land across vast distances, thanks to the hash marks on the bottom of the reticle. It made estimating bullet drop much easier for me, and I believe it’s one of the best scopes for long-range shooting at this price point.

Common Problems and How to Deal with Them

The one downside is that it can be a little sensitive to recoil, but this is something that can be easily remedied by using a higher-quality mount.

Key Features

  • Battery Powered V-Brite reticle to illuminate the center dot
  • Fast Focus eyepiece and long eye relief
  • Fully multi-coated, anti-reflective lenses
  • Adjustable capped reset turrets, MOA Clicks can be reset after sighting in
  • Made from strong Aircraft Grade Aluminum
Pros Cons
  • Comes with an excellent BDC reticle
  • An adjustable objective allows you to eliminate parallax
  • Lenses are multi-coated for durability and clear views
  • Has great eye relief
  • Finger resettable turrets are easy to adjust
  • Some recoil can offset the reticle

Basic Parameters

Manufacturer Vortex
Weight 23.6oz
Eye Relief 4”
Magnification 6-24x
Field of View 17.3-4.4 ft at 100 yards

The Bottom Line

If you are looking for bang for your buck, you will be hard-pressed to find a better option than the Vortex Optics Crossfire II. It’s loaded with features typically only found on more expensive models, yet it manages to come in at a very affordable price point.

Overall, I was highly impressed with the Crossfire II, and I believe it offers excellent value for the money.

My Rating 4.5/5


3. LUCID Optics Advantage 6-24x50mm Sniper ScopeLUCID Optics Advantage 6-24x50mm Sniper Scope

Check Price on OpticsPlanet

This fantastic sniper scope features magnification settings between 6 and 24x with a 50 mm objective lens. It also features a second focal plane reticle that works throughout every one of those zoom settings, so you don’t need to get used to different reticle sizes as you zoom in and out. As a hunter who practices long-distance shooting against rapidly moving targets, I really appreciated this aspect.

My Feelings after Using the Lucid Optics Advantage

Once I mounted the scope on my Ruger precision 308, I noticed that it has excellent eye relief ranging from 3.25 to 4.25 inches, depending on your zoom setting. I’d recommend using this with a high-recoil, long-distance rifle. The scope can be adjusted for parallax between 15 yards to infinity and allows for up to 92% light transmission, thanks to its lenses’ exceptional coatings.

Combining this scope with a long-range rifle such as a .308 Winchester is a match made in heaven.

Product Highlights

As any long-distance shooter knows, being able to compensate for windage and elevation is critical if you want to land your shot. I appreciated how quickly and easily I can adjust the turrets on this scope, and they can be locked to prevent me from accidentally jostling them as I move. Each time I moved them, they clicked with a satisfying tactile sensation.

Common Problems and How to Deal with Them

The max eye relief could be better, but this particular scope is great for someone who is on a budget, though, and it still has some great features.

Key Features

  • Adjustable turrets
  • Multi-coated lenses
  • Accurate windage and elevation adjustments
  • Waterproof, fogproof, shockproof
Pros Cons
  • Turrets are easy to use and lockable
  • Lenses are multi-coated for durability
  • Light transmission is top-notch
  • The scope is lightweight overall
  • Matte finish reduces glare in the sun
  • Max eye relief could be better

Basic Parameters

Manufacturer Lucid Optics
Weight 24.5oz
Eye Relief 4.25 – 3.25”
Magnification 6 – 24x
Field of View 4.3 – 16.5 ft at 100 yards

The Bottom Line

All in all, this is an exceptional sniper scope that’ll be a favorite for hunters that primarily target fast-moving creatures at farther distances. The windage and adjustment turrets are so good that you’ll wish that other sniper scopes had ones just like them. I’ve used it several times now, exceeding my expectations every single time.

My Rating 4/5


You can also read my full guide on the best rifle scopes under $500.


4. Vortex Optics Diamondback 6-24×50 Riflescope Vortex Optics Diamondback Tactical 6-24x50 First Focal Plane Riflescopes - EBR-2C (MRAD) Tactical Reticle

Check Price on Amazon
Check Price on OpticsPlanet

This Diamondback scope has provided me with the same quality and innovation I’ve come to expect from this top-tier brand.

My Feelings after Using the Vortex Optics Diamondback

This is another first focal plane optic with zoom settings between 6 and 24 times and a 50 mm objective lens. It also uses extra-low dispersion glass and multicoated lenses. I can’t stress enough that these features are important if you want to get the most out of your scope. Trust me when I say the sight picture you can expect from this optic is second to none.

I was thrilled with the reticle on this scope. It was etched on the glass for added stability and quality, and it featured enhanced hash marks to help me estimate windage and elevation even while scoped in. This was great for when I needed to make quick adjustments on the fly.

The side focus knob is also a nice touch, as it allows me to quickly and easily adjust for parallax.

Even better, the scope is equipped with a precision glider erector system. It has allowed me to swap zoom settings quickly and smoothly, allowing me to keep up with the target’s changing distance.

Product Highlights

As a long-distance hunter, I know that being able to sight into your optic quickly is the difference between hitting your target and missing. That’s why I appreciated that this scope features a fast-focus eyepiece that enabled me to focus on my target quickly, even after meeting back to get a broader view of the surrounding environment. Combine it with the excellent eye relief inherent in the scope’s design, and you can rest assured that you’ll be more than pleased.

Common Problems and How to Deal with Them

The turrets on this scope can’t be locked when shooting. This means that you will have to adjust the aim every time you take a shot, which can be a bit more difficult.

Key Features

  • Diamondback Tactical First Focal Plane
  • Extra-low dispersion glass, fully multi-coated lense
  • Precision-glide erector system for effortless magnification changes
  • Exposed tactical turrets plus side parallax knob
  • Shockproof
Pros Cons
  • Has a fast-focus eyepiece
  • The reticle is etched onto the glass
  • Lenses are multicoated and excellent
  • Can swap zoom settings quickly and smoothly
  • Features parallax and windage and elevation turrets
  • Turrets can’t be locked

Basic Parameters

Manufacturer Vortex
Weight 24.6oz
Eye Relief 3.9”
Magnification 6-24x
Field of View 18-4.5ft at 100 yards

The Bottom Line

Ultimately, I feel that this scope will be an excellent choice thanks to its fantastic and innovative features, including the fast focus eyepiece and the wonderful reticle. Long-distance hunters will appreciate how easy it makes to land far-off shots. It has worked wonders for me, and I feel positive it will do the same for you.

My Rating 4.5/5


5. Bushnell Engage 6-24×50 Riflescope 30mm Tube Bushnell Engage Riflescope, 6-24x50mm, Matte Black

Check Price on Amazon
Check Price on OpticsPlanet

Bushnell is one of the best manufacturers in the business, So I always find it a pleasure to test out one of their scopes.

My Feelings after Using the Bushnell Engage

The Bushnell Engage can swap between magnification settings through 6 and 24x and has a 50 mm objective lens. To protect them, it comes with flip-open covers. These are great not only for protection from dirt and debris but from degradation under direct sunlight.

I’m pleased to say that the scope is also bolstered with weatherproof conditioning and a premier protective lens coating to repel water, oil, dirt, and debris.

I’ll definitely appreciate the antireflection coating that provides excellent brightness and true color sight pictures no matter what time of day it is. This will let me hit distant animals that somewhat blend into their environment more easily than I would otherwise.

Product Highlights

For me, the scope’s best feature is its turrets. I can lock all of the turrets to prevent me from accidentally bumping them out of place. They also don’t require any tools to be operated with precision, making this scope a great field use tool. I can also adjust for parallax thanks to the side-mounted dial – another critical feature for any successful long-distance shot.

Common Problems and How to Deal with Them

If you find that the reticle is too small or falls out of alignment, you might want to consider looking at some of the other scopes I’ve tested. Some of them have larger reticles, which could be easier to use.

Key Features

  • Deploy MOA reticle
  • Fully Multi-coated
  • Toolless Locking Turret
Pros Cons
  • Allows you to compensate for parallax well
  • Has moderate eye relief at 3.6 inches max
  • Turrets lock
  • Made to work in any weather
  • Has several lens coatings
  • The reticle can occasionally fall out of alignment
  • The reticle is a bit too small for some people

Basic Parameters

Manufacturer Bushnell
Weight 23.7oz
Eye Relief 3.6”
Magnification 6-24x
Field of View 28-7ft at 100 yards

The Bottom Line

The Bushnell Engage 6-24×50 riflescope is a great piece of equipment. I was really impressed with the clarity of the glass and the quality construction of the scope. Overall, this scope is an excellent choice for anyone who needs a reliable and affordable scope.

My Rating 4/5


The 5 Best Long-Range Scopes between $500 and $1000


1. Vortex Optics Viper HS-T 6-24x50mm SFPVortex Optics Viper HS-T 6-24x50 SFP Riflescope VMR-1 MOA

Check Price on Amazon
Check Price on OpticsPlanet

As you might have guessed, I’m a big fan of Vortex Scopes, and the Viper HS-T 6-24x50mm is one of their best.

My Feelings after Using the Viper HS-T

This is another scope that magnifies between 6x and 24x with a 50 mm objective lens. It also features multi-coated and extra-low dispersion lenses so I can see my target with incredible clarity. I tested the scope in a variety of lighting conditions, and I have to say that it passed with flying colors. These lenses are also bolstered by special coatings that protect them from dirt or debris.

What I want to point out here is the fast focus eyepiece that allows you to properly adjust the reticle to your eye in a blink. It allowed me to scope into a fast-moving animal at a far distance, way faster than many other scopes I’ve tested.

Product Highlights

The scope has windage and elevation adjustment turrets that make wonderfully audible clicks every time you move them. I know small pleasures like this might not seem like a big deal, but it’s the little things that make all the difference. What I also like is that you can zero-stop them whenever you need them, allowing you to go back to zero fast. Parallax adjustment is enabled as well.

Common Problems and How to Deal with Them

There are a couple of minor downsides to this scope. The lens covers included are a bit cheap, and it requires a bit of force to adjust magnification. The lens cover can easily be replaced with a higher quality version, and the magnification can be adjusted with a little more force. Neither of these issues should prevent you from considering this scope.

I’ve also featured this scope on my best scopes under $1000 guide.

Key Features

  • Accurate VMR-1 Reticle
  • Fully multi-coated, extra-low dispersion lenses
  • CRS Zero Stop
Pros Cons
  • Can zero-stop your windage and elevation turrets
  • Lenses are well-made and coated
  • Includes a fast-focus eyepiece
  • Made of quality materials all around
  • Provides a great sight picture
  • Included lens covers are a bit cheap
  • Adjusting magnification requires a bit of force

Basic Parameters

Manufacturer Vortex
Weight 22.6oz
Eye Relief 4”
Magnification 6-24x
Field of View 17.8-5.1ft at 100 yards

The Bottom Line

The Viper has some great features, the quality elevation turrets, and fast focus eyepiece were standouts for me. As far as the overall build and quality – excellent! Though marred a bit by the cheap lens covers, they are easy enough to replace.

All in all, this is a fantastic scope that would grace any long-range rifle.

My Rating 4.8/5


2. Leupold VX-3i LRP 6.5-20x50mm Riflescope Leupold VX-3i LRP 8.5-25x50mm Side Focus Riflescope

Check Price on Amazon
Check Price on OpticsPlanet

Leupold is one of the best names in rifle scope manufacturing, and this rifle scope demonstrates why.

My Feelings after Using the Leupold VX-3i

I was really impressed with the features offered by the VX-3i optic, It’s a 100% waterproof and fog-proof optic, with additional protection against shock damage.

It also features a first focal plane reticle that magnifies alongside the image, allowing me to better estimate range and track my target at long distances.

Furthermore, this phenomenal scope is an ultra-lightweight model, so I can easily pair it with a ton of different rifles without throwing it off balance.

Also, from my experience, it disperses recoil energy better than almost any other scopes on the market, making it a perfect partner for high-powered rifles suitable for shooting up to 1000 yards.

Product Highlights

By far, the most impressive feature of the scope is the proprietary Twilight Max Light Management System, a combination of premium lens clarity and full-spectrum lens coatings. This means I get an extra 20 minutes of shooting light. This can make all the difference when I’m trying to hit a target at long distances during dusk or dawn shooting hours.

Common Problems and How to Deal with Them

Parallax may come into play with the VX-3i, so you may need to adjust the focus on the scope.

Key Features

  • Front Focal TMR Reticle
  • Twilight Max Light Management System
  • Long Range Precision Adjustments
  • Lightweight
Pros Cons
  • Very lightweight and durable
  • Great eye relief between 3.7 and 5.3 inches
  • The reticle is phenomenal
  • Leupold quality
  • Parallax may come into play

Basic Parameters

Manufacturer Leupold
Weight 22.4oz
Eye Relief 5.3-3.7”
Magnification 6.5-20x
Field of View 11.5-4.6ft at 100 yards

The Bottom Line

Any hunters that prefer expeditions taking place in the dawn or dusk hours of the day will really appreciate this rifle scope. All thanks to its light management system that allows you to benefit from additional minutes of light.

My Rating 4.5/5


3. Vortex Optics Viper PST Gen II 5-25x50mm SFP Riflescope  Vortex Optics Viper PST Gen II 5-25x50 Second Focal Plane Riflescope - EBR-4 Reticle (MOA)

Check Price on Amazon
Check Price on OpticsPlanet

This is Vortex’s response to many of the top-tier riflescopes suitable for shooting at long ranges. It features magnification settings between 5 and 25x and has a 50 mm objective lens. The reticle is set on the second focal plane, so it’ll remain the same size even as you swap between magnification settings.

My Feelings after Using the Viper PST Gen II

I really liked the reticle on this scope. It comes with several intuitive hold points but is remarkably uncluttered, making it a perfect design for long-distance shooters that might need to adjust for several elements before they take a shot.

I have to say, I’m really impressed with the quality of the lens glass on this scope. The extra-low dispersion increases resolution and color fidelity, while other coatings make the lens more durable and scratch resistant. The scope as a whole is argon purged, and o-ring sealed, enabling it to work in any kind of weather.

Product Highlights

I have to admit that this scope comes with a set of some of the best turrets I’ve ever seen. They are laser etched, meaning they will work brilliantly when you need to adjust for wind compensation or bullet drop.

Parallax can also be adjusted, and all the turrets can be set to zero-stop. Lastly, the turrets come with a fiber-optic rotation indicator which enabled me to keep track of each turret’s position with ease.

Common Problems and How to Deal with Them

The eye window could be a bit larger, but really, with all the other amazing features on it, this scope is definitely worth purchasing.

Key Features

  • Tactical-Style turrets, laser etched
  • Extra-low dispersion glass
  • Detailed hold points reticle
Pros Cons
  • Turrets are extremely easy to use
  • Parallax can be compensated for
  • Glass lenses are phenomenal
  • Works in any weather condition
  • Comes with great eye relief – max 3.4 inches
  • Eye window could be a bit bigger

Basic Parameters

Manufacturer Vortex
Weight 31.2oz
Eye Relief 3.4”
Magnification 5-25x
Field of View 24.1-4.8ft at 100 yards

The Bottom Line

Although this Vortex rifle scope is pricey, I believe that it’s worth the money thanks to its fantastic functionality and its wonderful set of turrets. Long-distance shooters will appreciate being able to compensate for any scenario.

My Rating 4.7/5


4. Burris Optics Veracity 5-25×50 Riflescope Burris Optics Veracity Rifle Scope 200650, 200651, 200652 – 5-25x50mm Riflescope - Top-of-the-Line Hunting Scope, Longer Distance Shots

Check Price on Amazon
Check Price on OpticsPlanet

Here’s another top-tier long-range rifle scope designed especially for shooting up to 700 yards.

My Feelings after Using the Burris Optics Veracity

I think that this scope is perfect for hunters that operate around this range frequently. It can magnify between 5 and 25x and has a 50 mm objective lens, and you can zoom five times in a blink using the turning dial near the eyepiece.

The side-mounted and top-mounted turrets allow you to adjust for windage and elevation or compensate for parallax, depending on your needs. When I was testing it, each turret rotated smoothly and clicked audibly, which allowed me not to get lost in my position. The only downside I can think of is the lack of visible markings for the turret settings.

Product Highlights

If I were to praise one thing, it would be the fantastic lenses coming with the scope. They allow for almost unparalleled brightness and clarity no matter what time of day I’m shooting. As a long-range shooter, you will appreciate this more than most since you’ll be able to spot targets that are far away and somewhat hidden in shadow more easily.

Common Problems and How to Deal with Them

The turrets on this rifle scope don’t have clear markings for all settings. If this is an issue for you, use a marker to make some clear markings on each turret.

Key Features

  • Front Focal Plane Reticles
  • Advanced windage & elevation adjustment
  • Easy to reach parallax adjustment
  • Waterproof, fogproof
Pros Cons
  • Lenses provide fantastic sight pictures
  • Turrets rotate smoothly
  • Machined for action up to 700 yards
  • Can swap zoom settings quickly and easily
  • Turrets don’t have clear markings for all settings

Basic Parameters

Manufacturer Burris Optics
Weight 28.2oz
Eye Relief 3.5-4.25”
Magnification 5-25x
Field of View 21-4.3ft at 100 yards

The Bottom Line

All in all, it’s a specialty scope for marksmen going up to about 700 yards. The lens quality and overall functionality of the optic will make it a favorite for most so long as you don’t need to keep excessive track of your turret positions.

My Rating 4.8/5


5. Rudolph Optics Tactical T1 6-24×50 RiflescopeRudolph Optics Tactical T1 6-24x50 Riflescope

Check Price on OpticsPlanet

This long-range optic can magnify between 6 and 24x with a 50 mm objective lens: these are standard features for riflescopes for sharpshooters.

My Feelings after Using the Rudolph Optics Tactical T1

I really appreciated the T3 reticle on this scope, which helps me estimate windage and other bullet-affecting factors, especially at long distances. It’s located on the second focal plane, so it remains consistent regardless of whether I’m shooting long or close.

This scope also benefits from extremely consistent eye relief. It only ranges between 3.7 and 3.8 inches, regardless of your magnification setting. In other words, you won’t need to worry about the scope bumping into your eye and causing injury, even if you combine it with a high-recoil weapon.

The scope’s lightweight, aircraft-grade aluminum body and all-weather functionality make it a great hunting companion in any condition.

Product Highlights

What I love about this scope are its lenses. They are truly fantastic, coming with several top-tier coatings that allow for efficient light transmission regardless of your magnification setting. They also provide weather resistance and scratch resistance. This is perfect for me because I often hunt in sunny and dusty environments.

Common Problems and How to Deal with Them

The only issue I found is that the turrets could be a bit smoother or more tactile. There’s not a lot you can do about this, however, it is only a minor issue and does not affect the overall quality of the scope.

Key Features

  • Tactical- target turrets with screw-on caps
  • Fully multi-coated lenses
  • Waterproof, shockproof, fogproof
  • Side focus parallax adjustments
Pros Cons
  • Has consistent eye relief all around
  • Lenses are excellent in quality
  • Has matte finish for aesthetic and function
  • The reticle is great for hunting
  • Turrets could be a bit smoother/more tactile

Basic Parameters

Manufacturer Rudolph Optics
Weight 23.8oz
Eye Relief 3.7-3.8”
Magnification 6-24x
Field of View 16.6-4.1ft at 100 yards

The Bottom Line

It’s a great long-range scope for distant sharpshooters thanks to its wide magnification spectrum, efficient lenses, and excellent reticle. I also found it very consistent and comfortable, thanks to its narrow range of eye relief.

My Rating 4.8/5


The 10 Best Long-Range Scopes over $1000


1. Vortex Optics Razor HD Gen II 4.5-27×56 FFPVortex Optics Razor HD Gen II 4.5-27x56 FFP Riflescope EBR-2C MOA

Check Price on Amazon
Check Price on OpticsPlanet

Here’s a great Vortex Optics contender for the best riflescopes for over $1000.

My Feelings after Using the Razor HD Gen II

The first thing I noticed is that it has a reticle on the first focal plane, enabling me to adjust no matter how far I zoomed in or out, and it can swap between 3x and 18x magnification with a 50 mm objective lens. Because of the lower zoom maximum, I discovered that it’s just as good for hitting up close and personal targets as it is for hitting targets over 1000 yards away.

But it also features a locking turret system that can prevent you from accidentally changing your windage or elevation values. I also like its visual rotation indicator, which allows you to keep track of your turret revolutions very easily. The low dispersion and anti-reflective glass coatings make it an even better scope overall.

Product Highlights

What I find particularly good about this scope is the illuminated reticle that can be swapped between 11 different intensities. This allowed me to use this rifle scope for far away hunting both at high noon and low light levels of the day, thanks to the quality of this reticle. It is also etched on the glass for added durability and stability.

Common Problems and How to Deal with Them

I had to think hard to find any negatives with this scope, all I could really come up with is that the lens cap is a bit naff. There’s a simple solution to this issue, invest in higher quality lens cap!

Key Features

  • Designed for long range
  • Illuminated Reticle
  • L-Tec Turrets
  • APO Optical System
Pros Cons
  • Has an excellent illuminated reticle
  • Made with great windage and elevation turrets
  • The reticle is etched on the glass
  • Lenses are antireflective and high-quality
  • Altogether suitable for any weather
  • Lens caps are not very good

Basic Parameters

Manufacturer Vortex
Weight 48.5oz
Eye Relief 3.7”
Magnification 4.5-27x
Field of View 25.3-4.4ft at100 yds

The Bottom Line

With the exception of the rather cheap lens caps, I believe this is still one of the best long-range rifle scopes on the market. Its turrets, lenses and illuminated reticle make it a fantastic piece of equipment worthy of the asking price.

My Rating 4.8/5


2. Nightforce Optics 5.5-22×56 NXS Riflescope Nightforce Optics 5.5-22x56 NXS Riflescope, Matte Black Finish with Illuminated MOAR Reticle, Zero Stop Turrets, .250 MOA, 30mm Tube

Check Price on Amazon
Check Price on OpticsPlanet

This long-range optic can magnify between 5.5x and 22x and features a slightly wider than average 56 mm objective lens. This enables it to collect more light and makes it a great choice for shooting over 1000 yards away.

My Feelings after Using the Nightforce Optics NXS

Like the last scope, this choice also has an illuminated reticle, so I could take advantage of its excellent visibility in any type of light environment.

The scope also comes with an excellent, aircraft-grade aluminum body that keeps its overall weight down without the scope losing its durability. I found that this made it easier to carry in the field, and it also helped to reduce vibration when firing.

Furthermore, the scope has a matte black finish. This helps to prevent the sun from glaring on the surface of the optic, making it difficult for my prey to spot me.

Product Highlights

The zero-stop turrets are a great addition, I can quickly compensate for either windage or elevation when I’m taking distant shots. And if I need to move around rapidly, I don’t have to take lots of time to set up for each shot. This will be a huge help when I’m hunting in more dynamic environments.

Common Problems and How to Deal with Them

Some of the long-range scopes I have reviewed here can zoom in a bit further, so if this is an issue for you, check out some of my other picks. If you are a beginner at long-range shooting, this might be a little expensive for you; if so, look at my 5 budget long-range scopes under $500.

Key Features

  • Zero-Stop Turrets
  • Waterproof and Weather Resistant
  • Titanium Beta ErectorSpring
Pros Cons
  • Excellent windage and elevation turrets
  • Lenses are made with excellent quality
  • It is made with lightweight but durable aluminum
  • It has a pleasant matte black finish
  • Much too expensive for beginners
  • Some long-range scopes can zoom in a bit more

Basic Parameters

Manufacturer NightForce
Weight 32oz
Eye Relief 3.9”
Magnification 5.5-22x
Field of View 17.5-4.7ft at 100 yards

The Bottom Line

While it’s not the farthest range scope on the market, I think it does a great job of balancing agility and long-range functionality. The turrets and lenses make it a quality piece of equipment. While the price tag might be a bit hefty for new shooters, if you have some experience, this scope is a contender for your shortlist.

My Rating 4.8/5


3. Schmidt Bender PMII 5-25×56 RiflescopeSchmidt Bender PMII 5-25x56 L/P DT P4Fine FFP MRAD CCW

Check Price on Amazon

Schmidt may not be a manufacturer that typically competes with more common companies. However, I believe this scope is well worth your time and money.

My Feelings after Using the Schmidt Bender PMII

I was impressed with the wide magnification range between 5 and 25x and the 56 mm objective lens. This enables it to collect plenty of light for long-distance shots. The reticle is on the first focal plane, giving me a great field of view between 5.3 and 1.5 m depending on the zoom level I’m using.

Furthermore, even at maximum zoom, I got excellent eye relief of about 3.5 inches. Its durable aluminum body and matte black finish mean that when I’m out hunting, the scope can take a little punishment and won’t stand out like a sore thumb.

I love that the reticle can be illuminated between 11 different settings. It makes it easy to customize the brightness to my preferences and the situation I’m in. Whether I’m hunting in the early morning hours or trying to get a better view of my prey in low light conditions, the reticle is adjustable to help me succeed.

Product Highlights

What, in my opinion, deserves the most attention here is the excellent windage and elevation adjustment set of turrets. The scope also incorporates a separate parallax turret that allows you to compensate from 10 m to infinity. More importantly, this scope includes a unique color-coded double-turn elevation knob. This gives me an instant reference to where the elevation is set and allows me to compensate quickly if the target moves up or down, for instance, if I am hunting on a mountainside.

Common Problems and How to Deal with Them

Apart from the cost of this scope, I can’t fault it, but if you want a scope as high-quality and feature-rich as this one you can expect to pay premium prices.

Key Features

  • Innovative turret design
  • Illuminated reticle
  • Side focus adjustments
Pros Cons
  • Elevation turret has a unique feature that makes it great
  • Made with an excellent body
  • Lenses provide good light transmission
  • The reticle is illuminated between 11 settings
  • Good eye relief overall
  • Expensive compared to most

Basic Parameters

Manufacturer Schmidt Bender
Weight 39.82oz
Eye Relief 3.54″
Magnification 5-25x
Field of View 5.3 – 1.5m at 100m

The Bottom Line

There’s nothing I can really fault with the Schmidt Bender PMII ultimately, it’s a great scope for someone with a little extra cash to spend and who is interested in the innovative turret’s design.

My Rating 5/5


4. Trijicon AccuPower 5-50×56 RiflescopeTrijicon AccuPower 5-50x56 Riflescope

Check Price on OpticsPlanet

I have reviewed a lot of riflescopes in my day, but the Trijicon AccuPower 5-50×56 takes the cake when it comes to long-range shooting. This scope can go farther than any other I have reviewed so far, and it has a number of features that make it ideal for long-range shooting.

It magnifies between 5x and 50x, easily enabling you to hit long-distance shots. It also has a 56 mm objective lens, which is great for hunting or target shooting.

My Feelings after Using the Trijicon AccuPower

The first thing of note is that the scope is bolstered by extra-low dispersion glass that can help your sight picture deliver true color no matter the light level.

I really like the lenses on this scope – they’re multi-coated to eliminate glare and prevent light loss. The body of the scope is made with hard-anodized aluminum to protect it from the weather and any corrosive damage. The only thing I don’t like about this scope is that the reticle is on the second focal plane. From my experience, it can be a bit tricky to use, especially given the wide range of magnification settings.

Product Highlights

I really like the illuminated reticle on this scope; it has 10 settings in total, five are red, and five are green, so I can decide which color works best for my background environment and my surrounding light level at the time of my shot. This is all controllable via a single knob that I can attest moves really smoothly.

Common Problems and How to Deal with Them

There’s little wrong with this scope. OK, the reticle is a little clunky on the second focal plane but as long as you are aware of it, I can’t see it being a major issue, more a minor annoyance.

Key Features

  • Illuminated Reticle
  • Precise Tracking
  • Extra Low Dispersion glass
  • Fully multi-coated optics
Pros Cons
  • Includes an excellent illuminated reticle
  • Magnification is very smooth
  • One of the longest range scopes around
  • Made of great construction materials
  • Lenses are phenomenal
  • The reticle is clunky on the second focal plane

Basic Parameters

Manufacturer Trijicon
Weight 38.4oz
Eye Relief 3.5-3.9”
Magnification 5-50x
Field of View 21.2-2.1ft at 100 yards

The Bottom Line

This rifle scope will be a great choice if you want to hit targets as far away from 1000 yards as possible, and you can compensate for the immobility of the second focal plane reticle.

For something less powerful, see my .223 optics guide.

My Rating 4.8/5


5. Zeiss Conquest V4 6-24×50 ZMOA-1 ReticleZeiss Conquest V4 6-24x50 ZMOA-1 Reticle

Check Price on OpticsPlanet

What we have here is a classic and functional sniper’s optic, the Zeiss Conquest V4. It’s a great choice for those who are looking for a no-nonsense scope that will help them hit their targets accurately time and time again.

My Feelings after Using the Zeiss Conquest V4

The 6-24x magnification range is perfect for long-range shooting, while the 50 mm objective lens ensures that you will have plenty of light-gathering power. The reticle is on the second focal plane, boosted by the presence of six layers of transmission coatings to improve color and resolution across the spectrum. This results in an image that is so clear you won’t believe your eyes.

It features a decent eye box, too, which enables you to acquire your target rapidly. Other features I appreciated and you are likely to value as well include the scope’s stealthy matte finish for reduced visibility, hard-wearing aircraft-grade aluminum body, and its ability to function in any kind of weather.

I also found changing between magnification settings is rapid, thanks to the smooth design of the main ring near the eyepiece.

Product Highlights

I always appreciate optics with zero-stop turrets since they offer a critical function for any long-distance sniper. These allow you to reset your windage and elevation values back to zero if you need to make an adjustment. But the turrets are also great in general, with tactile feedback and great turning precision.

Common Problems and How to Deal with Them

The only issue that some shooters might have with this scope is that the turrets have to be adjusted with a wrench. Forewarned is forearmed (pun intended). If you feel that this is something you don’t want to deal with, I have given you another 19 fantastic scopes to choose from.

Key Features

  • Integrated Recoil Lug
  • Zero Stop Turrets
  • Aircraft Grade Aluminum Build
Pros Cons
  • Turrets are well made and can zero-stop
  • Good eye relief overall at 3.5 inches
  • Decent-sized eye box
  • Good matte finish
  • Lens coatings are great
  • Turrets have to be adjusted with a wrench

Basic Parameters

Manufacturer Zeiss
Weight 24.5oz
Eye Relief 3.54”
Magnification 6-24
Field of View 19–5ft at 100 yards

The Bottom Line

I have to admit that this rifle scope is an excellent piece of equipment that won’t let you down in any weather. I especially appreciate the lenses, turrets, and weatherproof body that all make it a great optic for sniping at any range.

My Rating 4.5/5


6. Vortex Optics Golden Eagle HD 15-60×52 SFP Vortex Optics Golden Eagle HD 15-60x52 SFP Riflescope ECR-1 MOA

Check Price on Amazon
Check Price on OpticsPlanet

This long-range optic can go beyond most others on the market, reaching an upper magnification setting of 60x with a 52 mm objective lens. If you’ve ever dreamt of hitting targets so far away that they looked like ants, this scope will let you do just that.

My Feelings After Using the Vortex Optics Golden Eagle

Whenever I took this scope out, the image was always clear and crisp, no matter how much I zoomed in. It helps that the scope benefits from high-density lenses that are index-matched and multicoated.

I found it a little heavy overall at 29.5 ounces, but the body is made from just a single piece of aircraft-grade aluminum. The scope comes with extra-fine resolution turrets that allow you to make adjustments of just 0.125 MOA per click. I’d describe it as a precision tool for a precision marksman.

Product Highlights

Being able to sight into your target quickly, even at a distance, is imperative in a good long-range scope. This optic allows you to do just that, thanks to the design of the eyepiece. You can focus your reticle quickly and easily, even against a moving target. The reticle also comes with several holdover points to help you estimate bullet trajectory from afar.

Common Problems and How to Deal with Them

The only downside I found with the Golden Eagle is that it’s a bit heavier compared to most other scopes. If you are looking for a lightweight scope, check out the Leupold Mark 5HD, which is coming up next!

Key Features

  • ECR-1 MOA Reticle
  • Fast-Focus Eyepiece
  • HD Lens Elements
Pros Cons
  • Has a great eyepiece overall
  • Made with quality materials
  • The reticle is simple and easy to understand
  • Turrets allow for fine adjustments
  • Comes with an aluminum objective and eyepiece caps
  • A bit heavy compared to most other scopes
  • The lowest setting isn’t good for the closer, traditional hunting ranges

Basic Parameters

Manufacturer Vortex
Weight 29.7oz
Eye Relief 3.9”
Magnification 15-60x
Field of View 6.3-1.7ft at 100 yards

The Bottom Line

Although it’s slightly bulky, I think that this optic is nonetheless a great choice if you want fantastic performance and functionality at distances over 1000 yards on your next hunting expedition or target practice competition.

You can also check my full review of Vortex.

My Rating 4.8/5


7. Leupold Mark 5HD 5-25x56mm Riflescope Leupold Mark 5HD 5-25x56mm Riflescope

Check Price on Amazon
Check Price on OpticsPlanet

This Leupold rifle scope doesn’t disappoint in any measure. It can magnify between 5 and 25x and has a 56 mm objective lens, providing excellent light transmission at any of the zoom values. The reticle is on the first focal plane, and the lenses are boosted by extreme military-standard scratch resistance. And while I haven’t tried it myself, Leupold claims the scope can function even in sandstorms.

My Feelings after Using the Leupold Mark 5HD

While I didn’t try it during any sandstorms, I did take it out for a weekend of hunting. Thanks to its lightweight aircraft-grade aluminum construction and weatherproofing, I had no trouble using it in cold and wet conditions. Furthermore, it’s lightweight and can help disperse recoil energy. Pair it with a high-powered rifle, and you’ll see what I mean. The turrets are steady and can provide 30 Mils of adjustment with three revolutions. The turrets are steady and can provide 30 Mils of adjustment with just three revolutions.

Product Highlights

The classic Leupold innovation, the Twilight Max Light Management System, returns once again, allowing you to take advantage of limited light in the dusk or dawn hours of the day. I can’t stress enough how important this is for long-range shooting. It’ll let you hit shots on distant targets that you wouldn’t be able to see without the system’s presence. All in all, it’ll give you about 20 extra minutes of shooting light every day.

Common Problems and How to Deal with Them

The eye relief on this scope never quite reaches 4 inches, but it still offers a clear view of your target. If you’re looking for a scope that will give you plenty of relief, then this may not be the right choice for you. However, if you’re willing to compromise a little bit on that front, then this scope has enough other fantastic features to offset this downside.

Key Features

  • Twilight Max Light Management System
  • Fast focus eyepiece
  • Waterproof, Fogproof
Pros Cons
  • Includes Twilight Max Light Management System
  • Made with fantastic materials
  • Withstands recoil quite well
  • Lenses are coated very well
  • Turrets are steady
  • Eye relief never quite reaches 4 inches

Basic Parameters

Manufacturer Leupold
Weight 31oz
Eye Relief 3.6-3.8”
Magnification 5-25x
Field of View 20.4-4.2ft at 100 yards

The Bottom Line

I have tested an abundance of scopes, but I have to say that this top-tier scope is almost unparalleled on the market. Its innovative design and fantastic features make it a great general sniper’s optic or a choice scope if you want to hit your targets in the early or late hours of the day.

My Rating 4.5/5


8. Primary Arms Platinum Series 6-30×56 FFP Rifle Scope Primary Arms Platinum Series 6-30x56 FFP Rifle Scope with Illuminated DEKA MIL Reticle - Made in Japan

Check Price on Amazon
Check Price on OpticsPlanet

This rifle scope is an adaptive long-range optic with variable magnification settings between 6x and 30x. The 56 mm objective lens comes with a first focal plane reticle, which is itself an optimized and updated version of a classic Mil-dot variant. The lenses are coated for extra durability and better light transmission.

My Feelings after Using the Primary Arms Platinum Series FFP Scope

I am very pleased with the construction of the scope, which is built with heavy-duty materials and top-of-the-line Japanese glass. It weighs over 38 ounces in total, making it a little heavier than average. From experience, however, it’ll work in any weather, and I’m pleased to report the scope is covered by a lifetime manufacturer warranty for any defects. Thus, it’s great value for money, even with the high asking price.

Product Highlights

This scope boasts a fantastic, illuminated reticle. It’s bright red but is compatible with night vision accessories on the lowest setting, so I’m going to definitely combine this scope with some nighttime expeditions. It also works great in full daylight hours on the highest setting. The scope comes with a matching sunshade and flip caps for added value.

Common Problems and How to Deal with Them

This scope is a little heavier than average, I understand that some shooters want as lightweight a scope as possible. If you are in this camp, then take a look at the two Leupold models I have reviewed on this page, this brand is well-known for its lightweight optics.

Key Features

  • Illuminated Reticle
  • First Focal Plane Reticles
  • Precise click adjustments
  • Turrets are Zero resettable
Pros Cons
  • The illuminated reticle is great all around
  • Made with durable materials and a hard-anodized black finish
  • Comes with a lifetime warranty
  • Lenses are made with great clarity
  • Includes a few minor accessories
  • A little heavier than average

Basic Parameters

Manufacturer Primary Arms
Weight 38.2oz
Eye Relief 4-3.0”
Magnification 6-30x
Field of View 16.60-3.30ft at 100 yards

The Bottom Line

All told, this phenomenal rifle scope will be a favorite for anyone used to MIL-style reticles in the first place and anyone who will benefit from combining their optic with night vision equipment.

My Rating 5/5


9. NightForce ATACR 7-35x56mm F1 RiflescopeNightForce ATACR 7-35x56mm F1 Riflescope

Check Price on OpticsPlanet

This rifle scope is another great choice for optics intended for use over 1000 yards.

My Feelings after Using the NightForce ATACR F1

I wanted to test out this scope as it has a unique magnification range between 7x and 25x and a 56 mm objective lens. The results were extra light collection and better clarity. And I have to say that the lens is even better because it has an illuminated reticle that enables you to use the scope in low light conditions or bright conditions alike. It’s on the first focal plane, which gives it added versatility for long-range engagements.

The scope is waterproof and fogproof for added durability, and the lenses are multi-coated for increased light transmission and better protection against dirt and debris. What I found particularly impressive is that the scope never becomes too heavy, even with all these improvements.

Product Highlights

I believe this scope comes with some of the best turrets around. Each turns at .1 Mils and provides me with responsive, tactile feedback with every click. They’re laser etched and easily marked, enabling me to see exactly where I turn them. An additional sunshade rounds out the scope’s offerings.

Common Problems and How to Deal with Them

The only problem you might encounter with this scope is getting your hands on one! You’ll often find it out of stock, but maybe by the time you read this, they might have resolved supply chain issues. Anyway, if this optic is on your shortlist, you’ll want to keep checking to ensure it’s available.

Key Features

  • Tactical MIL Turrets
  • Zero Stop Technology
  • Parallax adjustable
  • Windage adjustments
  • Large engravings are easy to read
Pros Cons
  • Comes with great turrets
  • The purchase comes with a sunshade
  • Lenses are made with multiple coatings
  • Good materials overall
  • Reticle is illuminated
  • Stock amounts can vary, may be difficult to find

Basic Parameters

Manufacturer NightForce
Weight 39oz
Eye Relief 3.6”
Magnification 7-35x
Field of View 15-3.4ft at 100 yards

The Bottom Line

Ultimately, this top-tier long-range rifle scope is a precision optic that’s ideal for those who hunt at varying elevations. Use the turrets to their fullest extent, and get the most bang for your buck out of this scope.

My Rating 5/5


10. Burris Optics XTR II 5-25×50 Riflescope Burris Optics XTR II Rifle Scope – 5-25x50mm Riflescope – Tactical Shooting, Long Distance Shooting, SCR MOA, MOA based SCR, Mt Black

Check Price on Amazon
Check Price on OpticsPlanet

Here’s a pricey yet high-quality Burris rifle scope that can alternate from 5x to 25x magnification with a 50 mm objective lens.

My Feelings after Using the Burris Optics XTR II

This is an excellent long-range optic. I could hit targets well over 1000 yards away, thanks to its absolutely amazing lenses. These are designed with special coatings to facilitate top-tier light transmission, making it even easier to distinguish animals with fur, blending in your environment.

However, I have to mention that it’s also an excellent rifle scope for its durability and versatility. Like many of the other scopes I’ve reviewed, it is made primarily from aircraft-grade aluminum, which means it’s tough and durable; it’s not going to give up on me when I’m halfway up a mountain.

The reticle is illuminated for even more benefits during low light conditions. You can choose between five different reticle types depending on your prior experience and preference, making this one of the more customizable rifle scopes for long-distance hunting on the market.

Product Highlights

This scope also benefits from a set of excellent tactical turrets for windage, elevation, and parallax adjustment. Each of these turrets clicks audibly and rotates smoothly. Plus, as I have found, the turrets adjust to their associated values quickly and accurately to let me compensate for a moving animal even at far ranges.

Common Problems and How to Deal with Them

This is another scope with great features but a bit heavy. You know the drill by now, if heavy scopes are a turn-off for you, explore some of the lightweight scopes, especially those from Leupold.

Key Features

  • Zero Stop Technology
  • Illuminated reticle
  • Quality optical glass
  • Waterproof and fogproof
Pros Cons
  • Very good windage and elevation turrets
  • Can easily compensate for parallax
  • Has great lenses all around
  • Made to work in any weather
  • A little heavy compared to many other scopes

Basic Parameters

Manufacturer Burris Optics
Weight 32.1oz
Eye Relief 3.5-4.25”
Magnification 5-25x
Field of View 21-4.3ft at 100 yards

The Bottom Line

Overall, this long-range riflescope is a great pick both because it allows you to tackle parallax (a key issue for any long-range optic) and because of its phenomenal turrets and lens design.

You might also be interested in my comprehensive Remington 700 optics guide.

My Rating 5/5


Price Ranges

As you can see, long-range scopes can be found within several different pricing points. This is great since it allows even hunters on a budget to still purchase a great model of scope that has plenty of features to make it worthwhile.

Of course, I don’t have to say that the most expensive scopes are often the best when it comes to the sheer number of features or the quality of the construction.

Under $500

Scopes that are under $500 will have a standard assortment of features and capabilities. Nearly all of them will have a protective coating or materials of some kind, with many of them being water, shock, and fog proof. 

Between $500 and $1000

Scopes between $500 and $1000 will have a few more features and advantages compared to their cheaper counterparts. In general, scopes around this pricing range will offer a slightly better quality of construction. From my experience, scopes around these prices also typically come with some accessories or other trinkets to improve the value of the purchase.

Over $1000

Scopes that are $1000 or higher in cost are the cream of the crop. They are made of the best materials, and many of them come with lifetime warranties to help make up for their initial first hit to your wallet. These are among the best scopes you can buy for long-range accuracy.

Overall, the type of scope you should buy heavily depends on your budget and your needs. That said, I’d recommend sticking with a pricing point that makes sense for how often you go hunting or use your rifle for long-range shooting. For instance, if you only occasionally take your firearm out to hit targets with your friends, it doesn’t make much sense to purchase one of the most expensive and high-quality long-range scopes when you could easily make do with a cheaper model.

If, on the other hand, you’re a hunter that takes long-distance accuracy seriously, and you and your companions head out every hunting season to take home new trophies, purchasing one of the higher end scopes is something you should consider. When it comes to firearms and their accessories, you get what you pay for.


What You Need To Consider Before Buying a Long-Range Scope

Magnificationmagnification in long-range scope

The first significant aspect you should consider is magnification. The exact range that your gun can reach depends on the caliber of bullets that you use and the weapon itself. But from my experience, I can tell that your magnification settings also have a drastic impact on how accurate you can be at extended ranges.

From my experience, magnification settings of around 10x or higher are a great starting point for most rifles. Obviously, for lower-range weapons like a .22, this might be a bit overkill, but approximately 10x is what I’d regard as a good general target, particularly for novice hunters. If you want a scope for a .22, you probably shouldn’t be reading this guide anyway.

Folks who use even higher power firearms like the 6.5 Creedmoor or even farther range weapons will want magnification that can bring even more power to the table. Many of the best long-range scopes will have upper magnification settings of around 20x to 30x.

I’ve included several scopes with a magnification of 6-24x or similar, which is excellent for medium to long-range shooting.


Fixed or Variable Magnification

Some long-range scopes have only one magnification setting. These are called “fixed” scopes, while those that can flip through different zoom levels are called “variable.”

In my opinion, the fixed/variable difference is more of a preference than a factor that will drastically alter a scope’s price. You can indeed find many cheaper long-range scopes that only have one magnification setting. But plenty of affordable scopes also have plenty of variation in their magnification.

Based on my experience, however, I’d recommend variable magnification in most cases. Having the extra versatility to draw back your sight and see more of the terrain when necessary could be invaluable during specific hunting scenarios. When I’m hunting deer, for example, I prefer to be able to zoom in for a more accurate shot or back out to have a better sense of my surroundings.

However, if you find a scope that has a magnification power setting at a range that’s ideal for your needs, there’s no downside to purchasing that model. Just be aware that you won’t be able to change how far the scope zooms.


Objective Lenshow rifle scopes work

The objective lens size has a direct impact on how much light is allowed inside your scope’s tube. The wider the lens, the more light is collected by the scope, and the better your sight picture.

Bigger lenses create a brighter image for your eye and provide a wider field of view, even with high magnification power. Therefore, scopes that have high power magnification and a wide objective lens will let you see far away without compromising your field of view.

However, mind that more substantial objective lenses will require a higher mounting on your rifle and are bulkier compared to scopes with smaller objective lenses. A big lens might limit the types of weapons that you can mount on a particular scope. Besides, a big objective lens will alter the weight and balance of your firearm.

Although I haven’t experienced this when shooting while prone, I’ve noticed it can be a problem when attempting to take shots from a standing position. A big objective lens can make your rifle feel front-heavy and unbalanced.

If you only ever plan on taking long-range shots while lying down in a comfortable position, then a large-scope lens might not be so much of a problem for you. But if you want to use your rifle for different types of hunting, including where you have to stand or move quickly, then a smaller objective lens might be a better option.

Try to balance the objective lens size of your chosen scope for your uses. Bigger is often better, but take care not to buy a scope that’s too big for your firearm.

That said, I’ve tried to include scopes that do not have an excessively big objective lens.


Reticle Type – First or Second Focal Plane and More

Reticle type is equally as important as the factors above. For starters, reticles appear on either the first or second focal plane.

First focal plane reticles will appear to change size as you switch between magnification levels. This function keeps the reticle’s estimation hash marks the same relative to the target, even if the size of the points appears to diminish. They will always represent the same distance.

First focal plane reticles don’t require you to perform quick mental math or guess as to the new values of those points.

Second focal plane reticles don’t appear to change even as you switch between magnification powers. These types of reticles are fixed at the one magnification setting on a given scope: usually the highest power possible. This design means that the estimation points on the reticle are only truly accurate for one zoom level.

Every other magnification setting will require you to adjust your estimates either with quick math or spatial guesswork. While this isn’t much of an issue with scopes that only have a few magnification settings to switch between, it can cause problems when switching from, say, 30x power to 12x power.

For these reasons, most experienced long-range hunters and shooters (including myself) will prefer a first focal plane reticle more often than not.

Although it took me a little getting used to, I find that using a first focal plane reticle on my rifle scope helps me maintain accuracy through a variety of magnification powers and doesn’t require me to guess as much. The choice is ultimately your own, but remember that second focal plane reticles can be unwieldy on variable scopes.

Obviously, this point is moot for fixed power scopes since they only have one magnification setting anyway.

The scopes I believe are the best come in both the first focal plane and second focal plane varieties. This way, you can find a scope that’s right for you, no matter your preference.

Many long-range scopes also have illuminated reticles. These can be great for accurate targeting in either low light conditions or the brightness of daylight. I find them especially useful during the early morning and late evening hours when game is most active.

Whenever a scope has an illuminated reticle, check to see how many different brightness settings come along with it. Various settings allow you to fine-tune the reticle for your eye.


BDC ReticlesBDC Reticles

In my opinion, scopes that make use of BDC or bullet drop compensation reticles should get a bonus point.

BDC reticles have a series of estimation points that are stacked in a vertical line directly beneath the center of your crosshairs. These estimation points correspond to your rifle’s zeroed range and allow you to place a shot’s impact point at alternative ranges accurately.

Put simply, a 100-yard zeroed rifle with a BDC reticle might have elevation estimate points corresponding to 100 yards apart beneath the crosshairs. You can still fire a target 400 yards distant by using the BDC elevation points. Use the third marking beneath the crosshairs as your aiming target, and be amazed by the accuracy.

I think that a BDC reticle is an excellent benefit to any long-range scope, and they don’t take much practice before you get used to them. While they don’t account for wind adjustments, they can take a lot of pressure off of elevation estimates.

I can truly say that a good BDC reticle has saved my bacon on more than one occasion when I’ve been hunting in a mountainous country.

BDC reticles are sometimes adjustable for different distance amounts, but they’re usually calibrated for specific ballistics, which, in my eyes, is a downside. You won’t often be able to use the same BDC scope for different weapons firing different calibers of bullets.


Durability

If I’m going to spend several hundred dollars or more on an optic, it better be able to withstand some abuse. I’ve had scopes that have been less than durable in the past, and it always costs me more money in the long run. Not to mention, it’s incredibly frustrating when your brand new scope gets jostled around a bit and starts acting wonky.

My advice would be to always look for scopes made with aircraft-grade aluminum or a similar sturdy metal for the body or main tube. These kinds of materials will last a lot longer than cheaper stuff and are often anodized or made to be rust-resistant.

I find that an anodized coating is particularly great since it decreases the glare of the scope and can help you blend into my environment more efficiently.

You should also check to see if the scope is water, fog, or shockproof. You’ll be thankful for these features if you ever find yourself in inclement weather or hunting in a rugged area. I once took a tumble down a small ravine while deer hunting, and my scope took quite a beating. I was worried that it might be damaged beyond repair, but thankfully it held up, and I could finish my hunt without any issues.

What is the best caliber for long-range shooting? Follow the link to find out.


Lens Coatings

Durability extends to optics, as well. Some of the best long-range scopes will have optics made with a particular layer of Armortek coating or a similar material. This coating will prevent the optics from becoming scratched quickly.

I noticed that other chemical coatings that might be placed onto your optics can improve light transmission across the board. The more light gets collected into the scope, the better your sight picture, so optics that can improve this factor are certainly better than their counterparts. At least from my experience.

I’d suggest looking for long-range scopes that have multi-coated optics, combining both the protective and light transmission capabilities described above.

However, keep in mind that many scopes that have multi-coated optics will be a little pricier than models that have optics with only one coating of material.


Eye Relief

The eye relief matters as well, particularly for rifles that have a lot of recoil with every pull of the trigger. Eye relief is the distance between your eye and the scope where you can still see the full sight picture offered and thus maintain accuracy.

My advice here would be to find scopes that afford you at least 3.5 inches of eye relief at a bare minimum. This should prevent you from accidentally getting a bruise around your eye or on your brow as you lean in intently before taking your shot.

I could share a few embarrassing stories about black eyes I’ve gotten from sub-par scopes, but I’ll spare you the details.

Remember to find a scope with even more eye relief if you wear glasses when you use your rifle.

All of the scopes I’ve included in our top 20 list have adequate eye relief, so no worries here.


Mil or MOA?

Mil vs MOA comparison

I have to admit ,the difference between the units of measurement above can matter a great deal. Judging the distance between you, your target, and various estimation points are critical when it comes to long-range shooting. While both Mil (milliradians) and MOA (minute of angle) are acceptable measuring systems for scopes, which should you choose?

In essence, 1 Mil equals 3.6 inches at 100 yards, while 1 MOA equals 1.047 inches at 100 yards.

You can convert either measuring system value to the other by multiplying your number by 3.43, but this isn’t an easy mathematical equation to do in your head. This difficulty is why many long-range scopes will have either Mil or MOA measurement approaches rather than both. A few will have combination systems that inform you of both values, but these are somewhat rare.

Ultimately, which of these two you prefer comes down to personal experience. Many United States hunters use the minute-of-angle system, while people in other countries or military organizations use milliradians. Many hunting schools use the milliradian system since tons of gun instructors come from an army background.

Make sure that any scope you choose has measurements depicted in the style with which you’re familiar. Otherwise, you’ll have to go through an extensive learning curve to use your scope effectively. Trust me when I say it’s something you’d rather avoid. You don’t want to be fumbling around trying to figure out which measurement is which when you’ve got a trophy buck in your sights.


Conclusion

And there you have it. My comprehensive guide to the best long-range rifle scopes. However, I want you to remember that no single rifle scope, no matter how perfectly built and designed, can cater to every customer’s needs and demands.

That said, before you pick a scope, make sure that the model you are willing to go for has all the particular specifications that you need and want. And more importantly, always keep your budget in mind before you feel like putting a hole through your savings for the higher-end scopes.

I hope you enjoyed my guide today and if you have any questions, please feel free to leave me a comment!


Frequently Asked Questions

What is a focal plane?

The reticle is placed in either the first (front) or second (back) focal plane in rifle scopes. The relationship between the reticle and the target does not alter with magnification when using a first-focal plane reticle. This means that graduation of 10 MOA at 5X equals 10 MOA at 10X with a graduated long-range reticle. Reticles in the second focal plane do not amplify the target. This means that at 10X, a reticle with a graded mark that extends to 10 MOA at 5X will extend to 20 MOA.

Because the reticles are bright and simple to see at low magnification, second-focal plane rifle scopes are popular for hunting. Because the sub-tensions of the graduation markers used for windage and elevation holds fluctuate with magnification, they’re not popular for long-range shooting.

What is the difference between the first and the second focal plane?

When you zoom in or out on a second focal plane (SFP) scope, the reticle remains the same size. That implies the hash marks will represent various distances at different magnifications and ranges when it comes to holdovers. They are normally set to a standard zero distance of 100 yards by the manufacturer.

A reticle on a first focal plane (FFP) sight changes size with the image as you zoom in or out. This ensures that the hash marks for holdovers will be accurate at any magnification and distance. FFPs are, of course, more expensive.

Ideally, you’ve gained a better understanding of what a long-range rifle scope entails, and you’re ready to choose one. Keep these suggestions in mind, and you’ll be on the right track.

What budget should I have for a long-range rifle scope?

Within 600 meters, a sub-$1,000 scope is commonplace, with many of them costing significantly less than a grand. Long-range shooting is a very different ballgame, and scope cost reflects this dramatic distinction. Misses on far targets might be unpleasant or puzzling due to a lack of visual clarity, ruggedness, and high-quality construction.

Quality is expensive, and finding a reliable scope for long to extremely long distances for less than $1,000 is like finding a year-old Corvette for $25,000. It happens infrequently, and when it does, you’re left wondering what the catch is. However, if your definition of “long-term” is more subjective, there’s a chance you’ll strike it rich.

How much magnification is needed for long-range shooting?

A good long-range scope will have a magnification range of roughly 5-20x, depending on your caliber and shooting purpose. From my experience, I can say that this range should be powerful enough for practically any long-range shooting scenario.

What is the longest-range scope?

The plethora of long-range scopes on the market today can be daunting, but the March Genesis ELR 6-60x is currently the most powerful scope available.

What is a good long-range scope for a rifle?

This is somewhat dependent on one’s definition of long-range. However, most long-distance shooters should look for a scope with a magnification range of 5-20x, a first focal plane MRAD or grid-style reticle, and completely coated lenses.

17 thoughts on “Best Long-Range Rifle Scopes – The 20 Best Optics in 2022”

    • Excellent article. One excellent line of scopes and not covered in your article is by Tract. Their 34mm tube diameter HD Torric Zoom to 30 power is certainly worthy of consideration.

      Reply
  1. A well thought out article. Too many articles are unrealistic. This was very well organized and executed. Thank you for the massive effort this took.

    Reply
  2. good information left Burris out ? been building long range guns since 1970 for folks all over country personally use Leopold but tried all the rest all have Excellent point but did not see BURRIS also use them excellent quality all up and Down the price point

    Reply
    • Hello and thank you for your comment.

      There are 2 Burris scopes on the list. I agree with you they are of excellent quality.

      Reply
  3. I will be starting my 68 hunting season here in pa come fall and you did an excellent job on this article. Get the best scope you can afford and learn to use it because there is no better teacher than practice . Shoot often

    Reply
  4. You provide a good overview but have included an error or typo in the explanation of Mils. A mil is 1 yard (36″) at 1000 yards distance (or would be 1m at 1000m distance). At 100 yds. one mil is 3.6 inches, not 0.36 in inches. Intervals in mil-dot reticles subtend 3.6″ at 100 yds. You may find some scopes with turret adjustments of 1/10 mil per click. Those intervals would be 0.36″, vs. the 1/4″ at 100 yds. which is most common on scopes sold in North America.

    I prefer metres for measuring distance along the ground, but still use inches for drop or wind compensation. At 100m, one mil is very close to 4″ (actually 10 cm). This is an easy approximation which is extremely close to the correct value.

    Reply

Leave a Comment